Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Flight of the Eagles

Flight of the Eagles, written by Gilbert L. Morris, is the first book is a 10-book Christian sci-fi series.

This first book sets the tone and storyline for the rest of the series. Seven people, the Sleepers, find themselves waking up to a strange new world 50 years after being placed inside special capsules to sustain them while they sleep. They have slept through a nuclear war and the world they wake up to totally is different from the one they remember.

Josh is the first Sleeper to awaken and it is his task to find the other six and release them from their capsules. Then, the Seven are to join with Goel to battle the wicked priests of the Sanhedrin in an effort to save the world.

Not only must Josh survive the battle to save the world, he must also survive the inner battle he has with himself when he loses faith and hope in his mission and the future.

A few black-and-white pencil sketched illustrations are scattered throughout the text.

What I Like: I like science fiction, especially books in a series. There are 10 books in this series, so there are plenty to read.

What I Dislike: Unfortunately, this first book isn’t very well written, so I would not be inclined to read any more books in the series.

There are many inconsistencies in storyline. For instance, when the Sleepers wake up after 50 years, you would think they would be all cramped up from not moving for so long. But, not one of them seems to have any problems with that particular issue.

Also, when they wake up, they are hungry. One of the Sleepers, Sarah, wants steak and potatoes to eat. The land they wake up to is desolate and barren, yet, somehow, the survivors manage to find steak and potatoes to eat. Where did it come from?

And, when Sarah wakes up, she isn’t a bit curious as to why things are so different from the way they had been 50 years ago. She doesn’t ask any questions at all.

And, I could go on and on. There are just so many things about the storyline that don’t ring true or don’t make sense.

Overall Rating: Ho hum.

Age Appeal: Young adults.

Publisher Info: Moody Publishers, 1994; ISBN: 9780802436818; Paperback, 192 pages, $6.99.

Buy now at ChristianBook $5.99!

Or buy at Amazon.com $6.99.

Special Info: This is book #1 in the publisher’s The Seven Sleepers series.

Bookmark and Share

No comments: